Split Tone Paintings from Ushuaia

Ushuaia is the most southern city in the world according to the Argentinian tourist board, set off the mainland on the island of Tierra del Fuego. Chile seems to dispute this, and as far as I can see on the map, they do have a town further South, but what do I know? Regardless of which town is further south, Ushuaia is truly beautiful. Nestled between mountains and the Beagle Channel, home to a conflicted history and permanently chilly, it is well worth a visit.

In working on these pictures, I wanted to make my pictures a little dreamlike and magical. Call me romantic, but I really did feel inspired whilst I was here! I chose to experiment with a split tone and different painting style effects to achieve that goal. It’s a bit of a twist on the classical pictures of Ushuaia, but I hope that I have added something to the beauty of this place in my pictures.

boat-and-view.jpg

house-on-hill.jpg

reflections-on-the-lake-split-tone.jpg

Leave a Reply

